AT SMIT2021 

The John Wickham Lecture:
From Torch Light to Hologram - My Journey to Precision Medicine
Introduced by Andreas Melzer

Professor Erik Fosse, MD, Ph.D

Erik Fosse is a board certified specialist in general surgery and cardiothoracic surgery. He is professor emeritus of surgery at the University of Oslo and director of The Intervention Centre, a research and development department at Oslo University hospital The centre is a toolbox for the development of new advanced medical procedures.


Erik Fosse is also general director of NORWAC, a humanitarian organization, and previous chair of the Human Factors and Medicine Panel of the Science and Technology Organization in NATO.


Fosse is also founder and CEO of the company Cardiaccs as, developing motion sensors for cardiac monitoring.

The Gerhard Buess Lecture:
AI in Cardiology and Critical Care – no way back?
Introduced by Andreas Melzer

Dr. Anthony Chang, MD

Dr. Anthony Chang MD, has Masters in Business Administration, Masters in Public Health, Masters of Science in Biomedical Data Science with focus in AI from Stanford and MIT AI certification.


He has directed several US pediatric cardiac intensive care programs. He is now Chief Intelligence and Innovation Officer and Medical Director of the Heart Failure Program at Children’s Hospital of Orange County. He is one of the US Top Innovators in Healthcare.


Dr. Chang is the founder and medical director of the Medical Intelligence and Innovation Institute, first of its kind in a hospital.


He is the organizing chair for Pediatrics2040: Emerging Trends and Future Innovations meeting and the founder and director of the Medical Intelligence and Innovation Summer Internship Program.


He lectures widely on big data and AI in medicine and has been called “Dr. A.I.” by the Chicago Tribune. He has published review papers on big data and predictive analytics as well as machine learning and AI in medicine. He has published a text book titled: “Intelligence-Based Medicine: Principles and Applications of AI in Clinical Medicine and Health Care”.


He is the founder of three startup companies in medical AI: CardioGenomic Intelligence, AIMed and Medical Intelligence 10.

The Earl Owen Lecture:
The Journey of Liver Surgery and Future Perspectives
Introduced by Konrad Karcz

Professor Bjørn Edwin is a world pioneer in laparoscopic day care surgery, including adrenalectomy and splenectomy, and in minimally invasive hepato-pancreaticobiliary surgery.


He introduced numerous new advanced laparoscopic procedures, including laparoscopic liver, pancreas, living donor kidney, in different hospitals in Norway, Russia and the rest of Europe.


He has worked at the Interventional Centre and the Department of and Gastrointestinal Surgery, Rikshospitalet since 1996 and from 2001 as Head of Clinical Research in the Intervention Centre.


He is Professor in Minimal Invasive Surgery at Institute of Medicine, University of Oslo Head of Clinical Research, The Intervention Centre and affiliated to Department of HPB Surgery, Oslo University Hospital.

Professor Bjørn Edwin, MD, Ph.D

The John Abele Lecture:
How to Fertilize a research environment to grow innovations into companies
Introduced by Gernot Kronreif
Eirik NU_bilde-ny.jpg

Eirik Næss-Ulseth, M.SC

Eirik Næss-Ulseth, M.SC. in physics and MBA in finance, is an entrepreneur, business developer and investor.


He has worked for more than 30 years to establish, build up and scale high-tech companies in Norway, EU and US within biotechnology, bioinformatics, drug development, sensors and ICT.


He has board work in a number of companies in addition to involvement in public initiatives, e.g. Chairman of the “Board for Industry and Service Industries» in the Norwegian Research Council.


He has also been Member of the Advisory Board to the Government for Health Care in Norway (Health&Care21), Member of Board of the Life Science strategic effort at the University of Oslo, and Co-founder and Chairman/Member of the board of Norway Health Tech.


He was the winner of Oslo Innovation Award in 2011 as the first and so far, only private person receiving this award.